How to close and delete notebook?

Answered by Yogi Kumar
Updated
1 Views

On occasion,  you will want to delete old OneNote Notebooks that you don't need anymore.  To do this, you must first close the OneNote Notebook from within OneNote, then you need to find the folder that contains the notebook (on SkyDrive, in SharePoint, on your file server folder, or on your computer) and delete it.

 

Important Note:  If anyone else is using this OneNote, they will still see it open in their bookshelf, but will see a red "not connected" symbol next to it anymore.  If they want to keep using this, they will have to follow the directions for how to "move" the notebook to a new location.

 

 

 

 

  • < >Close the OneNote on every computer that has it openRight click on the notebook on the "bookshelf"Select Close this NotebookRepeat at each computer that has this notebook open.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or…

From Office 365 Team Site:

Navigate to the Notebook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • < >Navigate to where the notebook lives and delete it.Check the box next to the NotebookSelect ManageSelect DeleteFrom Your ComputerNavigate to Documents > OneNote NotebooksRight click on the folder that contains the OneNote NotebookClick DeleteFrom Office 365 OneDrive for BusinessCheck to box next to the Notebook
  • Click the ellipses (…) to the right of the name.
  • Click the ellipses (…) at the bottom of the box that pops up.
  • Click delete

From OneDrive:

 


From Your Computer (My Documents > OneNote Notebooks) or a File Server Folder

 

 

From Office 365 OneDrive for Business and Office 365 Team Sites